Call us 02 9635 7159
Text us 0451 005 151

How Ayurveda Works?

To start with, we need to have a basic understanding of Ayurveda through our lenses. There are few foundational tools to understand the laws of nature in Ayurveda and identify various states of balance and imbalances of health and provide the treatment accordingly.

The Twenty Qualities

Ayurveda identifies twenty qualities known as the Gunas used to describe every substance. These qualities are organized into the opposite ten pairs such as:

Heavy Light
Slow (Dull) Sharp (Penetrating)
Cold Hot
Oily Dry
Smooth Rough
Dense Liquid
Soft Hard
Stable Mobile
Gross Subtle
Cloudy (Sticky) Clear

The Gunas are an essential principle to understand in Ayurveda. The gunas are basically to balance the body with opposite conditions that are in our surroundings.

The three Doshas in Ayurveda– Vata, Pitta and Kapha- embody a particular element’s combinations and qualities and create a functional entity or force. The doshas and gunas are essential part of Ayurveda, as they are necessary to facilitate important body and physiological functions.

Panchamahabhutas – Five Great Elements

In Ayurveda, five elements- Earth, Water, Fires, Air and Ether (Space) are recognized as the fundamental building blocks of nature. Collectively these elements are called as Panchmahabhutas. It is believed in Ayurveda that every cell, every substance and that the universe is made up of these elements. Panchmahabhutas are considered to be the foundation of Ayurveda and plays a vital role in understanding the function and movement of the human body.